Chartered Accountant (CA) Foundation is the entry-level Chartered Accountancy Course. In order to become a CA, the candidate will have to clear three stages of CA selection process namely CA Foundation, CA Intermediate and CA Final. Among these three stages, CA Foundation is the first stage to become a Chartered Accountant.

Name of The Exam  CA Foundation
Conducting Body  Institute of Chartered Accountant of India (ICAI)
Level of Exam  National Level
Frequency of Exam  Twice a Year (May and November)
Mode of Exam  Offline (Pen and Paper Based)
Mode of Registration  Online
Number of Papers  4
Medium of Exam English/ Hindi
(English compulsory for Section B of Paper 2)
Basic Eligibility Passed Class 12 or Appearing for Class 12 in Current Year
Exemptions Graduates and Post Graduates or Candidates with Equivalent Qualification
Official Website


Papers Sections
Paper 1 Principles and Practice of Accounting (100 Marks)
Paper 2 Business Laws and Business Correspondence
a) Business Laws (60 Marks)
b) Business Correspondence and Reporting (40 Marks)
Paper 3 Business Mathematics, Logical Reasoning and Statistics
a) Business Mathematics (40 Marks)
b) Logical Reasoning (20 Marks)
c) Statistics (40 Marks)
Paper 4 Business Economics and Business & Commercial Knowledge
a) Business Economics (60 Marks)
b) Business and Commercial Knowledge (40 Marks)